Grasp The Moment Photography

Complexity

I find that things get more and more complex as my life goes on.

Wait a second, I’m not referring to decisions about life, love, money or time, I’m actually just talking about Legos. As I’ve stated in the past I was a huge Lego fan in my youth. I had a giant cardboard box of Legos and I’d spend hours of the day digging through it and building whatever my mind could come up with. I was limited to only what was in my imagination.

But of course, even this had to change.

Today Legos are sold in kits. They come with a 7000 page instruction manual and twice as many parts, and you don’t build whatever is in your mind’s eye, you build what you see on the outside of the box. When you’re done, you dare not touch them because they’re delicate and fragile, so they wind up sitting on the shelf, untouched and unplayed with. It they are played with, be careful, because if that one tiny piece rolls under the couch – and you know it will – you’ll never get it back to wahtever it was supposed to be in the first place.

And, of course, my kids love them.They also love buying their own stuff, which worked great when their Uncle Mark gave them git certificates to the Lego store. So off we went, and the boys picked out what they saw and what they liked and what they wanted to build. They used their own money to buy them.

It took three adults to help put them together when we got home, and even though the boys were happy, I guess I was just missing that big old cardboard box and the smell of an imagination at work.

One response

  1. Ah…I know EXACTLY what you are talking about!!

    I have the big plastic ‘pickle bucket’ of legos that my son had as a child…and the grandchildren love to sort through the millions of parts and pieces to build various structures, cars, boats, and unique creations. HOWEVER, at home they have the kits. And, the oldest grandson has a birthday this month and recently we spent hours on the Ipad searching for the kit he wanted for his birthday. I ‘nixed’ the ones with thousands of pieces and a price tag of hundreds of dollars! 🙂

    The positive side of the kit concept is that I think they are learning the basic skills for following a plan and putting together models. Not as creative, but at least it provides some value.

    July 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm

Leave a Reply

