Grasp The Moment Photography

How to blow $400 in an hour

To me, nothing is as awesome as earning money from my photography. If you look back to the very first post of this blog, perhaps you’ll see why. In a way, it’s the ultimate validation of my work. Not only is someone saying “Hey, you’re not bad” but they’re saying, “Wow, you’re so not so bad, I’m gonna pay you to take my picture.”

So I had money from the past three or four gigs, and some free time, so Kim and I headed to B&H.

If you’ve never been to B&H, let me explain that for a photographer walking into B&H is just like a sugar craved kid walking into a candy store. There’s stuff everywhere. On top of that, there’s more stuff. Lenses, filters, flashes, tripods, lights … it’s a never ending cornucopia of gadgets and goodies. The only way to make it out alive… and with the rent money safely still in the bank account is to go in with a plan. So Kim and browsed a little, walking under the bins of filled orders that whized by overhead, but checked off the list I had prepared… especially the lens I wanted.

Photographer, singer, and salesperson, Manny, even commented I was making a good choice when i bought the Nikon 35mm F1.8. I had been reading all over the web about it – especially on Ken Rockwell’s site and I couldn’t wait to get it home and see what it could do.

Needless to say it didn’t disappoint. It’s amazing in lower light conditions, and the DOF is fantastic. But that’s photography jargon… I took some shots walking around…especially after Kim finished setting up her curio cabinet… which then of course was interrupted by me having to make dinner. A shame, but the apple pork chops were delicious…

2 responses

  1. Sue

    And…I just dropped a little over $1,000 on a tripod. Expensive addiction we have, eh?

    October 17, 2010 at 8:26 pm

  2. Jenn

    Been a long time comin’
    I see it was worth the wait… and every penny…

    October 19, 2010 at 4:59 pm

Leave a Reply

