Grasp The Moment Photography

The Sky

As the miles rolled under the tires and we got closer and closer, the grip around my throat got tighter. What was looming ahead of us was as big as the great outdoors and despite the fact I was driving like a low flying rocket, part of me wasn’t looking forward to reaching my destination. I tried to vocize it, and all I could manage to get out was “it sucks he won’t be there”.

Thanksgiving weekend in Stroudsburg PA could only mean one thing – Railroad Earth. The band grew out of this area and every year they come off whatever tour they’re doing, they come home. I’ve been seeing them since 2005 in the Sherman Theater, a beautiful old theater and pretty much the only venue in this isolated place in the northeast.

Every show at the Sherman has been with Bob, and in fact he looked forward to this yearly celebration in his own backyard. He’d start bugging me about it by August.

Last year Bob slipped after 9 years of sobriety and the methadone he shot stopped his heart and dropped him dead on the floor of his house, walking distance from the Sherman. It was the biggest heart I’ve ever known and his end was tragic and stupid.

His death haunted me the whole year. Its been an eventful year, to say the least, and not having Bob there for counsel has been rough. Around the summer I announced to anyone who would listen that I was going to the RRE Thanksgiving shows even if I had to walk there. Now I was going, and with every exit sign I passed I contemplated turning around.

Then Kim mentioned the sky.

Being an afternoon in late fall the sun had begun setting. It found holes in the clouds and it’s rays shot out and filled the sky with really trippy patterns. Soon the clouds on the horizon parted and the half the sky became as bright as day as the rest turned dark as night. As we drove along the clouds in the sky thinned out and long purple streaks filled the sky. I laughed because I knew it was Bob. I pictured him playing with the big dials that controlled the sun and clouds with that big goofy grin he always had when he was up to no good. As we crossed the Delaware river the sun slipped below the horizon.

Yes, Railroad Earth blew the roof off the place. Friday night they burned the place down and then on Saturday they rebuilt it only to burn it down again. Bob would have loved the shows. I had my camera, found a nice spot at the foot of the stage and shot away. Friends surrounded me, and it was so good to see them again. Over dinner before handed we toasted Bob and then danced our asses off, even Kim, who was right in the thick of it for both nights.

I have a lot of “internet friends” who I’ve met over the years, most Bob met as well, but he always had one up on me. Well she was there Saturday night, to my surprise. Haha Bob. She gave me such a great hug too.

I came away feeling, for lack of a better word, healed. The music washed over me, and when they played “Seven Story Mountain” the words really dug into me.


“Its a seven story mountain
Its a long long life ahead
Got to find a light to fill my heart again.”

That’s when I felt Bob slap me across the back of the head again.

Yes he’s gone and I’m gonna miss him until the day we meet again, but that’s not gonna be for awhile. In the meantime he’s gonna be pulling some strings to get me amazing skies and mind blowing shows. Its not about what I’ve lost, but about what I have and about all I have yet to receive.

Like next Thanksgivings RRE shows at The Sherman…

See all the shots here…

See all the shots here…

8 responses

  1. Doug

    I’m speechless.

    Bob is so proud.

    December 3, 2009 at 1:19 am

  2. Moose

    You really managed to put things into a good place…..

    December 3, 2009 at 3:32 am

  3. DaveCat

    Nice tribute. Wish I could have been there…

    ~Peace~

    December 3, 2009 at 7:59 am

  4. John (Dad)

    Beautiful word and great pictures. I wish I had known Bob – he must have been special.

    December 3, 2009 at 5:20 pm

  5. Bill

    Beautifully written Brian, and the photos are excellent(as they always are).

    December 3, 2009 at 6:21 pm

  6. Jenn

    You’ve begun the healing process, on one awesome trip, on one awesome wing…
    He’ll carry you for a while, and then you’ll take off on your own.
    I hope to see you soar 🙂
    The people we love never really leave us, and they show themselves in the strangest and most unexpected ways.
    Hold on to that, and you’ll never fall.
    I’m happy you’ve found some peace in this tragedy.
    Wish I could have experienced the show- thanx for capturing it the way only you can.
    Keep the faith-
    We love you…

    December 3, 2009 at 9:06 pm

  7. I absolutely adore the faith, woven in your your words.
    So very beautiful and powerful.

    December 8, 2009 at 10:19 am

  8. Pingback: Me… I’ll Be Out Flying « Through The Lens

Leave a Reply

