Grasp The Moment Photography

You Took A Photo Of A Freak

Some one once said that to me about one of my photos, however I won’t say who it was or what photo. I walked into her cubical and looked over her shoulder to see what she was talking about.
“Where?” I asked. “I don’t see one.”
“You’re telling me you don’t think she’s weird for doing what she’s doing?”
I took a long look at the image on her screen. “No, I think she’s happy.”

In hind site, maybe she was right. But, maybe the person in the photo was happy being a freak. Or, perhaps the person criticizing the image was the freak. Perhaps we’ll all freaks in our own little way.

I don’t seek out people who are being freaky, maybe they find me, lol. Rather I am attracted to those who have a lust for life and are caught in the moment of happiness.

Jack Kerouac wrote β€œThe only people for me are the mad ones, the ones who are mad to live, mad to talk, mad to be saved, desirous of everything at the same time, the ones who never yawn or say a commonplace thing, but burn, burn, burn, like fabulous yellow roman candles exploding like spiders across the stars and in the middle you see the blue centerlight pop and everybody goes “Awww!”

Maybe the freaks, the mad ones, are easier to find. They’ re not the ones slummin on the couch after work watching endless reruns of Seinfeld and drinking and smoking their miserable day away. They are the ones who are out in the streets, in a parade, lost in the music of a powerful band, or just being their own freaky self out in the fresh air and sunshine.

It really doesn’t matter which one you are after all, all that matters is that you’re happy with your choice and that you’re living the life you choose. I’ve quoted the philosophy of Fred before – “have fun, be free” and I still feel those four words are a powerful statement. I’ve just finally re-entered the work force after a year of unemployed hell and I’m already starting to be tripped up by the trappings of a real job. My cameras been untouched for a week now and my newest postings are of unfinished photos from weeks ago.

However, I’m gonna try. I’m gonna find new ways to slip out of the shackle and grasp the moments slipping by me. I know what kind of freak I want to be and I’m gonna strive to make sure I’m never again morphed into something or someone I’m not. I did that once and it wasn’t fun

So as I’ll stop writing this on my blackberry on the way across the George Washington Bridge to work and turn it over to some photos of happiness … Or maybe freaks.

6 responses

  1. It’s so hard not to get tripped up by the full time rat race…but trying is all you can do…get out there whenever you can and keep doing what you love…you do it so well!

    October 24, 2009 at 5:36 pm

  2. John (Dad)

    I guess quite a few people in this family are “freaks” by these definitions. If so, I’m proud to be a freak! Thanks for reminding me that I am one.

    October 25, 2009 at 8:38 am

  3. suehenryphotography

    Good to see you posting on your blog again. I miss you when you take a break. Break’s over now~Get to shooting1

    October 25, 2009 at 2:05 pm

  4. rdh

    i like that you’re on the ‘list’ of photos. πŸ™‚

    October 25, 2009 at 7:08 pm

  5. Looks like a bunch of happy freaks.

    How’re ya doing, Brian?

    October 28, 2009 at 1:50 pm

  6. Jenn

    “Perhaps we’ll all freaks in our own little way.”
    I tend to lean towards this theory, myself.
    And the Jack Kerouac quote will forever hold a special meaning to me…
    These are some great photos here, you’ve really captured the emotion of being a free spirit.
    It just keeps getting better πŸ™‚

    November 1, 2009 at 3:44 pm

Leave a Reply

