Grasp The Moment Photography

A Year of Seeing Layers

A year ago, I blogged.

I remember feeling that day, as I wrote, the desire to hone my HDR skills, and to grow as an artist, so I thought I’d look back and see what the year has brought.

I’ve spent quite a few hours studying the work of the great masters Jason St. Peter, Lincoln Palmer, EasyPix, the genius Andy Hornby and the HDR magician Louis Trocciola. I’ve made notes of their techniques, the way they frame their shots, and their subject matter. I’ve exchanged emails with them, chatted, and picked their brains on the subject. I’ve learned little bits from all of them and added them into my skills. I bought what I consider to be the best HDR program on the market, Dynamic HDR by Mediachance, which in my opinion blows Photomatix out of the water. Coupled with Lightroom (which is the rock that my photography software is built on) and Photoshop, I’ve created a strong arsenal of HDR tools. My Nikon D90, which ironically, I prefer without the bracketing feature, delivers the images I take with unmatched clarity and color.

But there’s still something needed for a perfect HDR shot. I wish I could tell you what it is, but part of me feels that I’m still searching for it. Sure, I see it occasionally. The way a tree looks next to the path in the snow, or the way another path disappears into the autumn trees. A ship sitting in a river, docked along side a pier, my kids playing in the church steps or Rob delivering a power chord as he jams along with The Midnite All-Stars. I can’t even describe what it is a see, but as occasionally, when I look through my lens, I see the world in layers of light and color.

It doesn’t always work, and sometimes I make some pretty crappy HDRs, and those never see the light of day, my ratio is getting better and better.

That’s what I’ve done in the past year, lets see what happens in the next one…

Veiw my HDR photography here… and here.

Here are some of my favorite HDRs from the past 365 days…

Path

Ship Docked On The Mystic River

Midnite All-Stars - 07/25/2009

Merry Go Round

At The Airshow

All Points West Festival 2009

Autumn Road

Veiw my HDR photography here… and here.

7 responses

  1. Brian, I think this may be the first time I have been referred to as a master. I am humbled but not sure deserving of the title. I am like you however and learn and study all the great work I see everyday, including yours! Your “grasp” of HDR is there my friend! Love the band photo! Thanks for the mention and keep the good work coming.

    October 22, 2009 at 12:40 am

  2. rdh

    wow, really beautiful. i love the airplane wing and balloons. you really have a wonderful eys mr.b

    October 25, 2009 at 7:10 pm

  3. This is good stuff, Brian. Inspiring.

    Regards.

    October 28, 2009 at 1:53 pm

  4. Jenn

    You’re becoming quite the magician yourself-
    You’ve grown so much in the past year, and I’m so proud to be studying under you.
    There’s not enough I can say about these, and no way to pick my favorite one.
    Amazingly impressive is what comes to mind, though.
    Keep ’em coming…

    November 1, 2009 at 3:30 pm

  5. Brian, very cool HDR images here. Nice year end review to see where you’ve been and where you’re going.
    A Happy, Healthy and Wealthy Holiday and New Year to you and yours.
    Louis

    December 26, 2009 at 12:32 pm

  6. Hey Boss!

    Thanks for the props in the article. I’m sorry that I haven’t followed more intently. I had a cornea transplant about four months ago, so my time in front of a computer screen, out of necessity, is limited.

    It’s really inspiring to see your passion for the art and your work grow. It’s a great journey; one that I find more fulfillment in every day, as I’m sure you do!

    One thing I’ve noticed as I’ve withdrawn from forums and blog reading over the past few months is that when I lack stimulus from other photographers (especially talented and passionate ones like yourself), my own creativity diminishes exponentially. So, thanks for fueling the fire for me!

    I’m excited to see what you create with the year ahead of you!

    Regards,

    Lincoln Palmer

    January 6, 2010 at 9:58 pm

  7. fun and great images!

    September 11, 2010 at 11:50 am

Leave a Reply

