Grasp The Moment Photography

How Could We Not Stop?

Moose again.

So we took a trip up to the house to turn the water off for the winter. It was pretty damn cold and nasty, and honestly, I don’t want to know how much colder it could get. My readers know how me and the winter don’t get along.

Moose wanted company on the ride up, moral support as he calls it, and promised me exquisite autumn landscapes painted with the beautiful brushes of mother nature. He got the company, I got cold and rain.

We got to the house, did what he had to do, I’m still not sure what it was, but we poured antifreeze in the drains. The bottle promised that it would protect to -50 degrees, again, I don’t want to know how cold it gets up there.

I walked around the house and property as Moose poured the fruit punch looking stuff down the drains and took shots of the wet trees just starting to turn. Everything around me seemed to be in a weird place, balancing on the edge of summer and fall. The cold rain wasn’t heavy, just annoying. We wrapped up what we came to do, locked up and headed down the bumpy road that lead back to civilization.

“There’s a waterfall not far off the road. You wanna stop?” Moose asked. I looked out at the drizzly day and thought about it. “No.” I finally responded. “But you know what? We passed a cemetery on the way in. Can we pull over there? I know everyone thinks I have a sick thing for cemeteries, but there was tree in it that really gave the place some character.”
“Sure.” Moose responded.

A few minutes later he stopped the car and I walked across the road to the Claryville Cemetery. The rain had stopped, but the sky was still overcast and gray. I walked up to the tree I saw as we passed, and took some shots. I wandered along the roads, lost in the world of framing, light and exposure. I was snapped out of the sound of Moose’s footsteps.

“You see the dates on these things?” He asked. “They’re pretty old. 1825. 1850. 1840. 1874. They have been here a long time.” I began to notice the dates and he was right. These stones had seen many autumns underneath this big old tree. Moose and I walked around, and then headed back to the car.

“Thanks for stopping.” I said as I took a photo of the old church on the edge of the graveyard.

“No problem, kid.” Moose responded. “Hey, look at the tree in the middle of it. It’s perfect, I mean, how could we not stop?”

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

20091001-DSC_8717-Edit-E

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

Claryville Cemetery In The Fall

5 responses

  1. GratefulFred

    When I am traveling alone and I have the time, I love to stop at any cool, old cemetery I see. They are some of the most peaceful places I have found for a bit of meditative quiet time.

    October 10, 2009 at 2:33 am

  2. I just love your pictures..It really brought that grate story to life! Wow I was totally sucked into that man! Stellar.
    ~Jeff

    October 10, 2009 at 8:29 am

  3. Doug

    I have always dug your cemetery shots and these new ones are right up there. Thanks for sharing

    October 10, 2009 at 11:25 am

  4. You know you’re not the only one who loves to photograph in cemeteries. =)

    The tree was a perfect reason to stop and I love thee photo of the rock wall.

    October 12, 2009 at 10:32 am

  5. Jenn

    That tree really is quite the attention grabber.
    Those stones are perfect, great job on them!
    Love the bright flag against the drab weathered one, and the perspective on that wall.
    Feels like I was along for the ride, lovin that 🙂
    Beautiful work…

    November 1, 2009 at 2:50 pm

Leave a Reply

