Grasp The Moment Photography

… grows in Brooklyn

With the strong summer sun sneaking away into autumn, I grabbed Time Out magazine and flippd through it looking for something to do. As if the editors were aware of the situation, I found an article “Things To Do Before Summer Ends”. There on the list was a place I had heard about, but never been to, The Brooklyn Botanical Gardens. I grabbed Jenn McGowan, who grabbed her daughter & friend and off we went deep into the bowels of Brooklyn.

Ok, “deep in the bowels” isn’t that accurate, but it was in Brooklyn, nestled on the side of Prospect Park. It was the first trip there for all of us, and I was amazed how I had never been to this beautiful spot in my city. Jenn and I walked around clicking away as the girls tried to find the prettiest flower for her to shoot, and the ugliest for me. (Kept them busy, didn’t it?)

We wandered the manicured gardens, which were blooming in some spots, past bloom in others. We watched the turtles in the Japaneses pond bask in the sun, and would chuckle at the rare siren or car horn in the distance. For awhile we felt we were as far from downtown Brooklyn as one could get, strolling along in a floral paradise.

The lily pads in the reflecting pools were brimming with dragonflys which danced from flower to flower. The girls raided the gift shops, and even I got a “starving artist” pin. We walked through the greenhouses, each dedicated to “dessert”, “rainforest” and “temperate”.

I’ve commented in the past that I often view taking of flowers are boring, and my mind hasn’t changed. However, no one could ever deny the absolute beauty of a delicate flower. No one could ever not be amazed at the unique detail that gets poured by mother earth into every single petal on every single flower that blooms.

We left the gardens amazed at the beauty we had just witnessed, and I was happy I found another treasure of New York City.

Pond

Garden

Purple Lilly Pad Flower

Purple and Green

Black Eyed Susans

Dragonfly

Water Lilly Bud

Crown Of Thorms

Rose

4 responses

  1. beautiful stuff Brian…you’re always a genius with nature and these are no exception!
    love how you caught the dragonfly!!

    September 15, 2009 at 3:16 pm

  2. John (Dad)

    Nothing boring about those flowers & once again, great pictures.

    September 15, 2009 at 4:58 pm

  3. Jenn

    It was a great shoot, with the best of company.
    I got to experience an oasis, in a place I never could have pictured, and photograph it.
    I wonder how much we didn’t even notice…
    The way you tell it, I feel like I’m right back there again,
    I can almost hear the rhythmic pattern of the Cicadas.
    Your photos are absolutely perfect- my faves of your series.
    I hope to go back sometime and capture what we missed- like my dragonfly…

    September 16, 2009 at 3:54 pm

  4. You’re a master of nature! The DOF is fantastic!

    October 12, 2009 at 10:56 am

Leave a Reply

