Grasp The Moment Photography

Shadows On A Rock

What makes a person take a photo? Since the invention of the camera, people have been choosing what moments to immortalize on film, or in my day and age, in a million pixels. Sometimes its an easy choice, a birthday, a wedding, Johnny coming home from the war, a moment we want to remember every single detail of, no matter how minute, so we press the shutter and save it for eternity.

Maybe it’s our way of beating the system. It’s our attempt to stop our kids from growing. Its our way from keeping our loved ones alive. It’s the only way possible to stop the sun from setting on that magical day we’re having.

But what if there is no birthday cake or bride and groom or happy child running through the daises? What if it’s just a field of wildflowers? Or a tricycle? Or swing set next to a tree? Then what makes a person take a photo?

I was asked this question, and I had no answer. Instead I went back to taking photos of that swing set, because I had this nagging feeling something was there, but for the life of me, I had no idea what. So I kept shooting thinking maybe I’d find it.

I was lucky enough to escape the city for a day with friends to a country home which was only 3 hours away from my front door but felt as if it was on the opposite side of the earth. My cell phone didn’t have signal, there was no internet connection, and to be honest, I didn’t miss either. We spent the morning working replacing the beams under the house, crawling around in the muck and the mud, and finished filthy but proud of our work. The massive amount of grass was mowed after the tractor was fixed twice. I built a bonfire, flashing back to my years in Boy Scouts, and I’m bursting with pride that it went up with one match. I fed the fire to a tremendous blaze, and as noticed by my friends, I raised the tempature of the entire Catskill Mountains by nine degrees for the night. My real goal, however was the get it big enough to be seen from space.

Despite all the technology that was left behind, my shiny Nikon D90 seemed grossly out of place. Even so, I gripped it tight as I strolled through the grass and woods. Through my lens, I saw more than the grass and the woods, something harder to describe. The country house I was brought to was a special place, just an ordinary house to most, but to my friends and their family, it was home filled with memories of laughter, love, all those moments that make life worth living. I felt an odd pressure as I shot, a challenge to capture that spirit, and maybe that’s why I took so many photos of the swing set, maybe that’s what I was seeing.

Or maybe it was just shadows on a rock that caught my eye. I really don’t know. But as long as I have friends who love me enough to take me up to their magical country home to try to capture it’s spirit, and – dare I say it – fans who want to see the results, I’ll keep shooting.

The Covered Bridge

Country Home

Swings

Bonfire

Old Treehouse

Flowers Under The Steps

See more photos here…

7 responses

  1. beautiful work Brian. I really love that swingset.

    June 11, 2009 at 3:21 pm

  2. suehenryphotography

    I keep looking for the rock image with a shadow. 🙂

    I love the image with the fire — the person on the deck watching the fire from the shadows….

    June 12, 2009 at 10:36 am

  3. Lia

    Beautiful, absolutely beuatiful!!

    June 12, 2009 at 8:31 pm

  4. Jrennifer Suffel

    I’m not sure what struck me more the blog or the pictures..once again..Amazing!

    June 12, 2009 at 11:33 pm

  5. Nicely done Brian… I’ve added your blog to my list of “followed” so I can keep up with ya…

    Best Wishes,
    DestinDave

    June 13, 2009 at 9:16 am

  6. Patti

    Pitch…Absolutely love this pic…As soon as Jacquie saw the swing set photo she fell in love with it, just about as much as she loved swinging on them when she was growing up with her cousin Danielle! For me, it is like a hugh wave of memories to see this pic. I see the swings every summer at the house but this photo captures something… Terrific Pitch!!!

    June 14, 2009 at 8:50 am

  7. Jenn

    You do make it sound very magical.
    These photos really take me back.
    I believe you did capture that spirit,
    and you’ve done it justice 🙂

    This is truly amazing work

    June 14, 2009 at 2:54 pm

Leave a Reply

