Grasp The Moment Photography

She’s A Rainbow….

… Goes one of my favorite Max Creek songs… and it’s the first thing I thought of when my hand went into the coffee can this afternoon.

For those who don’t know about the coffee can – or forgot about it, like I tried to – it’s a little game I’ve created for myself. A while back I wrote a gagillion words on tiny slips of paper and stuffed them into a coffee can, which I promised myself that I’d raid the can every few days and shoot whatever the paper said. Like most promises I break, I followed for awhile, but then tapered off, hoping no one would notice. Great idea, except for this one bone head friend who brings it up to me every time we see each other. (Thanks Chuck. Now you know why I never invite you to afternoon tea anymore.)

So this afternoon, before I brought the boys home to their mom for mother’s day, the can caught my eye and opened it.

Colors.

What? Colors? I hate these words. Who the hell thought of them?

Oh right…

So I went about my day with the word tucked back in the dark recesses of my mind. As I walked through Home Depot – I promised my mom I’d fix some stuff around the house today – I pretended I was bouncing around ideas, but it really more like tossing a rubber ball against a wall in an empty room. As the hollow echo of the ball bouncing from floor to ceiling ran through my skull, I passed the paint aisle and all it’s samples laid out, and I walked right past them.

Colors… what a sucky word.

it wasn’t until after the chores, after diner, after I had pretty much given up for the day that I saw the flowers sitting on my dining room table. I really am an idiot sometimes.

I grabbed them, and found my colors. Colors more beautiful than any can from Home Depot could ever make.

And yes Chuck, I’ll try to get another word real soon…

Colors 001

Colors 002

Colors 003

Colors 004

Colors 005

Colors 006

4 responses

  1. Beautiful colors! Makes me want to get some gerbera daisies today.

    May 11, 2009 at 7:01 am

  2. I like the can idea. I hardly follow through with things like that though.

    You sure did get some “color” with those shots!

    May 11, 2009 at 11:48 am

  3. Jenn

    Well, welcome back to the can 🙂
    I’ll hold my tongue on the idiot comment because you come out quite the opposite in this case, hehehe
    These really are bold and beautiful!
    The color, the texture, the depth of field, clarity so to even see the pollen scattered across a petal or two.
    You’ve done a truly incredible job with this subject,
    and I look forward to the next inanimate object brought to life through your eyes
    ~Don’t wait TOO long…..

    May 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

  4. JRP

    What can’t you photograph?

    Gritty urban scenes, to the ordinary objects made beautiful to flowers!

    You always impress me, my friend!

    May 26, 2009 at 2:17 pm

Leave a Reply

