Grasp The Moment Photography

You’re As Mighty As The Flower That Will Grow The Stones Away

Spring is our yearly second chance.

We die through the winter, everything becomes cold and bleak, and even a fresh white blanket of snow eventually turns to a ugly gray eyesore piled up on the curbs of New York City. The wind chills you through to the bones, and I at least, make my way through the streets muttering “There is no reason for weather like this…” and usually a profanity or two.

But soon, the winds die down, the sun peaks from behind the clouds a little longer each day, and you’re not so pissed that you forgot your gloves at home. Winter has left us, and spring has arrived.

Every year around this time I watch the ground. Yes, contrary to what some people think, there are actually patches of ground here in New York City. I’ve always had a piece of it right outside my back door, well, my parent’s back door. Its a small section of property that we here in Queens call “The Yard”. My parents have always taken pride in their yard, it’s a mix of a quiet place to eat BBQ – or actually any meal cooked in this household between June and September when it’s not raining – and a small slice of nature that my parents tend to, consisting of a few flowers, some tomatoes plants and lots of ivy. There’s also a cherry tree that my brother Mike somehow picked up, I don’t remember the story, and remnants of the old magnolia tree that I spent countless hours playing on in my youth.

In my mind, it’s the most beautiful yard in the world.

It’s also the yard that I’ve watched the winters of my life fade away, and the springs sneak in before the summer heat.

What a perfect place to go with my new camera, right? Only one catch, of course, I hate taking pictures of flowers.

I told this once to someone I love once. They bore me, I said, not moving, giving you all the time in the world to frame it, switch lenses, get closer, work on that really nice shot. She said to me, that I should look at it as a thing all photographers need to do, and every really good shot of a flower as one step closer to never having to take a photo of a flower again.

So hopefully these will get me closer to that goal. And if not, I’m not too worried, because no matter how hot the summer gets, and how cold and nasty the winter winds blow, I know all I have to do is wait for spring to return home, and I’ll get another chance.

Spring Rain

Spring Blooms

Spring Approaches

The First Tulip

Yellow Tulips

Pink Tulips

7 responses

  1. suehenryphotography

    How ironic. I just Emailed you, reminding you that it was time to update your blog. I have missed your interesting written reflections and beautiful images.

    In my opinion, the challenge with flowers is figuring out how to turn them into “art” — or at least an “artful image.” You have done that in this series by including the water drops and utilizing the unique processing.

    Good to see you posting again!!!!

    May 8, 2009 at 10:03 pm

  2. The macro of the raindrops…so gorgeous they would sell at Tiffany’s.

    May 8, 2009 at 10:22 pm

  3. a step closer? You are already there my friend! Wonderful photos

    May 9, 2009 at 12:32 am

  4. Wow! All that in one small yard? Thanks for taking these, they are beautiful!

    May 9, 2009 at 7:22 am

  5. Jenn

    That’s an awesome title!
    Such a beautiful yard-
    For someone who hates taking pictures of flowers, you do one hell of a job!
    The drops are just perfect, and so inviting
    I can feel the soft texture of those petals
    And you know what a fan I am of your DOF
    The colors are bold and beautiful,
    But there’s something about The First Tulip,
    I just can’t take my eyes off of it-
    Definitely something in the color, or tone of…
    At any rate, I think Jason is right,
    You’re there my friend!
    Love ’em 🙂
    And as always, your story makes it all come to life

    May 9, 2009 at 10:19 am

  6. The leafy one is my favorite.

    You are much like me…I’m not a huge macro nor flower shooter, but I do like to challenge myself to take them on occasion.

    The 3rd to last shot you took is all “Brian” to me…it’s dark and moody-yet has a lot of beauty too. The last shot is fantastic in quality & comp.

    Glad to see you posting again!

    May 11, 2009 at 11:29 am

  7. JRP

    #1 – blows me away – I love the processing and the water droplet!
    and the water drops on the next one – amazing.
    Love your darker processing of these.

    May 26, 2009 at 2:19 pm

Leave a Reply

