Grasp The Moment Photography

My New Cemetery

… and that will probably be the funniest thing I write all day.

See, St John’s cemetery is anything but new, and it’s definitely not new to me in any way, shape or form. My Great-Grandfather, Otto, was a night watchman there. When Otto, his wife Marie, and my grandparents, passed on, they were all buried there. The first school I attended was across the street from it and for the better part of 8 years I spent more time staring at it through the windows than I did the blackboard. The church I grew up was attached to the school and it was the first thing you’d see walking out of the doors on a Sunday morning. My parents bought a house, and raised a family, on a street that ended looking at it. I spent four years of high school standing at a bus stop right in front of the same cemetery.

And yet… I guess I never really saw it until today.

I took my camera and left my wonderful new apartment, all finished and clean and warm, and headed out the door in search of something. I haven’t used my camera for much more than simply documenting my construction for the past month, and I was itching to find something out there. My feet turned towards St Johns and I thought a cemetery would be good way to get back into the swing of things, even if it was just boring old St John’s.

I thought of Otto as I walked along the paths. I wondered what he saw when he was there. I wondered if he ever got the chance the see the long shadows cast on the ground that I was seeing. Did he find the same tiny hints that spring is rapidly on it’s way that I did? Did smell the cool “still a lion” March air?

All this things I found, and this boring old cemetery provided me with some shots I am happy with. Whats old is new again and all that…

Shadow

Three Stones

His Hand

Cross & Roses

Stone In The Grass

Christ

8 responses

  1. That third shot down is outstanding. What a cool name, “Otto”. I like it. Your words are always so good…so real.

    March 14, 2009 at 12:34 am

  2. First of all, very amazing storytelling, Brian. You really have a way to draw people into the setting of the day. Very wonderful! The images are equally awesome and you haven’t disappointed. Great job! : )

    March 14, 2009 at 5:49 am

  3. suehenryphotography

    So glad you got “out” of the house and shared these images with us. It is always wonderful to view the world through your eyes. Only Brian can show us the beauty of shadows in a cemetery; the emotion of a broken finger on a powerful statue; or the peace that can be found by exploring a cemetery with one’s photographic eye.

    March 14, 2009 at 9:21 am

  4. Jenn

    It’s amazing what you discover when you just “go back”
    My whole family’s buried there,
    and I’ve never once thought to really look around.
    Thanx for planting the seed…

    The photos are outstanding, as usual.
    The Shadow is so mysterious,
    and I can almost feel the texture on Three Stones.
    Your perspective on His Hand is pretty daunting,
    and I love the shadow you caught on Christ.
    I don’t know what to say about the other two,
    they’re just so perfect.
    Your time away seems to have really paid off 🙂
    Great stuff!

    March 15, 2009 at 1:20 pm

  5. John (Dad)

    Otto (who was a very cold and distant man, unemotional to the extreme) might have even given half a smile in appreciation.

    March 15, 2009 at 4:02 pm

  6. The month you took working on your apartment was well spent. It is good to see you back out there shooting again though!

    I really like the processing you have given these. The third image is a standout for me. Great use of DOF!

    March 16, 2009 at 7:23 am

  7. JRP

    The shadow is great but #3 of the hand is fantastic with that depth of field.

    The last one really caught my eye as well – another great perspective with a great DOF.

    So glad to see you back in action with some amazing cemetery shots. I need to get out there myself soon!

    March 16, 2009 at 8:02 pm

  8. Nice job Brian! Brings to mind 2 things;
    1-you can’t see the forest for the trees sometimes. You found the”forest”!

    2-if you haven’t read it already, pick up Neil Gaimans, “The Graveyard Book”
    http://www.neilgaiman.com/works/Books/The+Graveyard+Book/

    Your photos, could have been illustrations for this book!

    March 24, 2009 at 1:47 am

Leave a Reply

