Grasp The Moment Photography

Desperate Desolation

I’ve always wanted to crawl through an abandoned building. I’ve secretly wished I lived near old run down farmhouses, I’ve dreamed of the photos I could take there.

For personal reasons, I’d rather not say anything about where these are from, it’s still too painful.

My father just sang Monty Python’s “Keep On Looking On The Bright Side Of Life” to me, so I think I’m gonna try that for awhile, he usually isn’t wrong about these things.

Desperate Desolation

Window

Window Lock

Light Bulb

Doorway

Volume

Broken Window

13 responses

  1. Jenn

    Trust your father-
    And have faith 🙂
    At the end of this road there IS Elko…

    February 3, 2009 at 6:34 pm

  2. Peg

    Its too painful to comment on!

    February 3, 2009 at 10:15 pm

  3. JRP

    I can only imagine what that life must have been like. It still has me reeling days later. Seriously. I can’t get the images out of my head…I just cant.

    “always look on the light side of life.
    If life seems jolly rotten there’s something
    you’ve forgotten and
    that’s to laugh and smile and dance and sing.
    When you’re feeling in the dumps
    don’t be silly chumps”

    PS: On another note…if you want to head to some abandoned places then get your butt over to Jerze and I’ll show you around. 🙂

    February 3, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  4. julielawsonphotography

    Your father is right…I’m still praying to the “Big Guy” for you. These have to be the most powerful images I have seen in a long time. Hugs to you!

    February 3, 2009 at 10:24 pm

  5. AB

    It is unfathomable but right now all you can do is “Don’t worry, be happy”! God will work his magic, he always does.

    February 3, 2009 at 10:49 pm

  6. Outstanding images, Brian!
    I especially like the door.

    If you ever feel like walking on the REALLY wild (west) side ….
    there’s always the Cherry Creek Ghost Town Tour …

    February 4, 2009 at 12:17 am

  7. John (Dad)

    As a Russian I worked with used to say – “We’ll fix everything. But first we get drunk!”

    February 4, 2009 at 8:54 am

  8. suehenryphotography

    I agree with Julie – “These are powerful images.” And, like Jen wonder what life must have been like……. And, your dad, well, what a great philosophy “We’ll fix everything. But first we get drunk!”

    February 4, 2009 at 10:51 am

  9. Powerful Images! I only know you through your blog but whatever is tugging at your heart I do hope life turns a bit brighter for you soon!

    February 4, 2009 at 11:51 am

  10. They are powerful shots!

    “First we get drunk”. Wise words, beer goggles always help!

    February 4, 2009 at 9:52 pm

  11. these sure relay a message of emptiness to me. The odd thing is…this same old abandoned vibe can be used to describe some hearts as easily as it does this house.

    February 5, 2009 at 9:46 am

  12. bhamgirl717

    very emotive and powerful shots.

    February 5, 2009 at 12:15 pm

  13. bhamgirl717

    bhamgirl717 (I’m Char from Ramblins) for some reason wordpress doesn’t pick up my nickname

    February 5, 2009 at 12:15 pm

Leave a Reply

