Grasp The Moment Photography

Have Fun. Be Free.

That’s what Fred says at the end of every conversation. She says it in her one of a kind accent with an inflection that shows you that it’s not a forced comment, rather her accepted mission statement. If you’ve ever met Fred, you know this already though.

It’s pretty hard to have fun and be free. The pressures of daily life, your responsibilities, and the desire for a paycheck seem to hold you back most times. Then of course there’s the opinion of others which we tend to let steer our decisions. That, at times, is the biggest anchor around our neck.

But, as Poppy reminded me the other day, “It’s ok to compromise on issues. It’s not ok to compromise on Who You Are” In fact, be proud of who you are.

For the past two years, I’ve attended New York City’s annual Gay, Lesbian and Transgender Pride Parade. I don’t think a stronger display of pride and accomplishment could be found anywhere than along 5th Avenue on this Sunday in June. As I watched and photographed the participants, the sheer joy shown through their faces. They were so happy, so free. This past year, I left the parade route and walked through the city to get to the street festival being held in SoHo. It was hot out, in fact hot as hell, and as typically happens on a day like this in NYC, a wild thunderstorm broke out, raining like it was the apocalypse for thirty minutes, then returning to clear skies as quickly as it came. As I took shelter from the rain under an awning, I thought of the wild and beautiful costumes back at the parade route and I realized many of them would be wrecked in the storm. I felt sad because of the time and the work that went into them, but I realized that nothing could damper the feelings of those who wore them. Even with ruined make up or soaked feathers, the joy and pride that I saw before the rain would still be there.

I’ve been packing my apartment this week, getting ready to move, and finding things that I had forgotten I had. I came across a pile of DVDs, all unlabeled, and checked the contents before tossing them. Most was garbage, but one was a back up of photos that I had done before I lost a hard drive. Among them were the shots I took at the 2007 Pride Parade. Happy to have them again, I backed them up, so I wouldn’t loose them a second time. I went back to packing, and eventually looked up at my wall, covered with 8x10s of some of my work. I considered taking them down, wrapping them up, and getting them ready to move as well, but I’m here for a few more days, and that would leave me here staring at bare walls. More than that though, they’re not just photos I took, they’re photos I’m most proud of.

I think I’ll take them down last.

Go off now… go do something… and if you’re not sure what do, and how to do it, call Fred. She’ll tell you.

Here are some of the shots I took at the 2007 & 2008 NYC Gay, Lesbian & Transgender Parades.

NYC Pride Parade 2008

NYC Pride Parade 2008

20070624-DSC_4322-E

Dancer

Slide show of the images of the 2008 Parade can be found Here

Slide show of the images of the 2008 Parade can be found Here

6 responses

  1. StKev

    Great pics and colors. What letter is this? Or are you going for G,L,B & T?

    January 25, 2009 at 9:18 pm

  2. JRP

    I remember all of the photos you took from the past 2 years at the parades. I have to say that I always love looking at each & every one of them. Your candid photography always amazes me.

    1-the colors are magnificent
    2-your focus and attention to detail are spot on…always super sharp.

    January 25, 2009 at 10:46 pm

  3. GratefulFred

    Be free. Have fun.

    January 26, 2009 at 1:38 am

  4. Jenn

    It astounds me how you can capture the joy in people,
    and make it look so easy!
    These are beautiful-
    I love the colors!
    Now go shoot some more….

    🙂

    January 27, 2009 at 8:41 am

  5. what fantastic photos! And almost lost forever!!! The second one gets me. I love the eyes.

    I undertand you not wanting to look at bare walls. That can be the worst!

    January 28, 2009 at 7:19 am

  6. Great shots! Great story too. Keep your photos up until the very last moment seems the right thing to do to me! Kevin

    January 28, 2009 at 10:29 am

Leave a Reply

