Grasp The Moment Photography

Snow

This morning, I got yelled at.

As I sat down at my desk with my first cup of morning coffee, I changed my status on Facebook to “Brian is up & watching the snow fall with the chillin’s…” Shortly afterwards Sue Henry commented, verbally harassing me for not only getting the snow she wants, but also for not being outside taking photos. Now… to begin with, I’m not a snow person, so I sat for a few moments, trying to figure a way to switch places with her. But I realized that she’d have to take it as a whole package deal, which included watching The Hulk cartoon my son was watching, for about the 300th time since I picked him up on Friday, and that might be a deal breaker.

I’m exaggerating her, as I sometimes do, Sue didn’t yell at me, more like politely asked in her typical, glass of lemonade, southern-belle way. But either way, she was right, and it was my new year’s resolution to get out and do more, so I was pretty happy when my folks agreed to change plans from going to a museum with the kids to just frolicking in the snow like a bunch of juveniles.

We dragged out the plastic sled from the basement and headed to the local park, or as my kids call, the “Big Hill Park” and found that there were a lot of others with the same idea. The first run was a great one, but ended with a collision between James and another sledder which turned him off to the whole idea for the rest of the day. He spent the rest of the time throwing snowballs and playing with Grandma.

Jack, on the other hand, became a sledding fool. The second the pull of gravity released him at the bottom of the hill, he was off, and climbing back to the starting line for another race to the bottom.

The snow was light, and soon the grass on the hill was starting to show, and the bite to the air was getting a little stronger, so we decided to head back indoors for some hot chocolate… and besides… Jack wanted to show Grandpa the new Hulk cartoon.

Snowball

Jack's Snow Angel

James Shoveling The Snow

Jack In The Snow

Sledding

18 responses

  1. Peg

    Great kids – but I’m prejudice!

    January 19, 2009 at 12:58 am

  2. suehenryphotography

    Can you sense my envy? My grandchildren are in Nashville so I can’t play with them. Plus, we don’t have SNOW! And…I’m envious of these fun photos of sledding, snow angels, red cheeks from the cold, smiles, giggles, laughter……

    January 19, 2009 at 4:03 am

  3. Mike

    Good to see them (finally) out in the snow. Love the snow angel pic

    January 19, 2009 at 7:58 am

  4. Great shots Brian. We are still waiting for the decent snow in the UK – it’s only been about 27 years wait so far but I’m confident it will come soon. 😉 Kevin

    January 19, 2009 at 8:02 am

  5. Nick s6

    Great pics and story!!!

    PS – I called last night to harass you too! But you weren’t available.

    January 19, 2009 at 10:06 am

  6. John (Dad)

    Not only dd my my grandsons and I watch the Hulk film (which was too difficult for me to follow with all those creatures jumping around) but Jack told me an entire Spider Man story. All that and a chance to play in the snow! A great day to be a contented Grandpa! Thanks for sharing the day, Brian.

    January 19, 2009 at 12:42 pm

  7. Dr_Tim

    Sue can have all of the snow currently drowning my car.

    January 19, 2009 at 2:27 pm

  8. JRP

    What a wonderful day. I should have gone out and frolicked in the snow too!

    I love moments captured like this with family and it looks like you had a wonderful day.

    PS: I love he last one – fantastic motion in that one!

    January 19, 2009 at 3:53 pm

  9. Joe

    “Jack, on the other hand, became a sledding fool.”

    That line makes me smile, Brian! Kids know how to enjoy the snow!

    January 19, 2009 at 3:59 pm

  10. man the perspective on that last shot is blowing me away. I never think to take a shot like that. I laughed hard at your comment about Sue yelling at you. I think I did the same to you on facebook. I think we are all keeping you to your resolution! Thanks for making me laugh. This day, this past week has been the most challenging ever for me. I thought nothing would ever make me laugh again, but picturing Sue yelling at you. That did it!

    January 19, 2009 at 11:38 pm

  11. Yep. If ya gotta have snow, you must also have sleds or toboggans, or — as we do out here; inner tubes. The old fashioned kind, that used to go inside tires. Car hoods are also great sleds, if you have a ton of kids to put in them — takes weight to get that puppy to go. And a BIG hill … this just sparked a memory, so maybe I’ll have to write my own blog.

    Great series, Brian! I’m kinda partial to the snow angel, since that was about the only winter sport I was ever any good at … 😉

    January 20, 2009 at 5:03 am

  12. Great narrative Brian. Sounds & looks like you guys had some great (fun) family time together. Thanks for sharing.

    January 20, 2009 at 12:21 pm

  13. Lovely shots mate! That last one is very interesting!

    The snow angel shot is nice. I have to confess, I’ve never made a snow angel in my life. My loss!

    January 20, 2009 at 7:31 pm

  14. Jenn

    Great snow day!
    Your story makes me sorrry I missed it.
    You’ve really captured the joy in these photos-
    Even your dad has a childlike quality about him.
    That last shot is golden!
    Your perspective is very impressive,
    I’m so happy Cindy made it okay!
    On to shoot another day……

    January 21, 2009 at 8:41 am

  15. StKev

    It’s not as much fun when you have to shovel it. The snow, that is.

    January 21, 2009 at 3:58 pm

  16. Stacey

    Aw, Juniper Park! That hill is where I would go when I snuck out of the house with the dog. He and I would leave the first tracks of snow there. There are some things about MV I miss… I guess. Thanks for being such a wonderful poet, artist & friend!

    January 22, 2009 at 5:43 pm

  17. Dude! That last picture’s great! I love the motion in it.

    I took my boys sledding they other day. They lasted one run..ONE RUN! So Mom and I took turns rediscovering.

    I’m glad you got out to shoot!

    January 27, 2009 at 12:48 am

  18. That last shot was my favorite. There is a movement and looks more real. Looks like you have fun. Some great shots are those we don’t expect the most.

    April 11, 2009 at 12:00 pm

Leave a Reply

