Grasp The Moment Photography

A Broken Back Is Better Than A Broken Camera

Only one single thought went through my mind in the few milliseconds that I was airborne.

Protect the camera.

In the past two weeks, I’ve seen two fellow photographers Brody Grant and Sue Henry endure the anguish of a broken camera. Thankfully, both of them survived, and they lived to shoot another day. As gravity sucked me down I freaked that I would suffer the same fate. Acting on instinct alone, I tucked my camera into my chest and rolled so my back stuck the ground first.

It worked, and as I lay on the patch of cold wet ice that caused me to fall in the first place, I held up my camera to make sure. As I did, I felt the consequences of my great defense maneuver, and a pain ripped through my back. Thankfully the pack on my back took most of the force, but I still kinda hurt. Ahh well, no pain no gain, right?

I got myself back up and navigated safely towards the steps that I was heading to. I took some photos and continued on my way.

The “Blizzard of ’09” that the weatherman predicted was pretty much a dud, but there was a fine covering of snow and ice over much of Queens. I headed to where I knew the snow and ice would be most untouched by shovels and rock salt, a cemetery. Apparently I was the only one with this thought, because I found a quiet and peace I hadn’t really seen before. The air was crisp and it blew through the leaf-less trees. On the ground were tracks of cats and either a few rabbits, or one amazing active one. Almost every where I walked, my footprints were the only human ones left behind. I raised my camera, trying to capture the stillness, but knew that no matter how good the shots were, they would never be able to capture the tranquility I was feeling.

I continued on until the pain in my back and the numbness of my fingers drove me indoors.

The night before I was sitting with an old friend, a person I have undying respect for, but unfortunately I haven’t seen a lot of in recent years. I showed him the “2008 yearbook” of my work. When he was finished he handed it back to me and said “Ptchfork, you’ve really found that thing you’re meant to do it life and I’m proud of you brother.” His words went right to my heart, and thought about them as I warmed up with a cup of hot cocoa and processed the photos I took. I’m pleased with the outcome and I don’t know if was his words, the beauty of my surroundings or my crash on the ice, but I feel like I might have busted through the funk I’m in.

Time will tell though… we’ll see when I post again.

Stone Steps

Withered Flowers In The Snow

Snow In The Cemetery
Roses In The Snow

Snow Angel

Ribbon Of Roses

12 responses

  1. suehenryphotography

    A quick update. The camera is good. The telephoto lens is questionable. And, I didn’t fall with the camera. I kicked the tripod over. Can you believe!

    Glad you kept your camera safe. We have to guard these babies. What would we do without them?

    Like the spot of color the roses provide on the snowy, gray cemetery.

    January 11, 2009 at 9:48 pm

  2. Peg

    As usual – GREAT photos!

    January 11, 2009 at 9:51 pm

  3. The roses and the cherub are my faves of the group. Very vibrant and crisp.

    January 12, 2009 at 1:56 am

  4. Hope you’re OK… glad the camera is.

    I agree with Lincoln – the roses and the cherub are sweeet!

    January 12, 2009 at 4:38 pm

  5. This is a wonderful set if images, Brian. Great processing of these!

    Sorry to hear about your back, but at least the camera is safe.

    January 12, 2009 at 9:00 pm

  6. Jenn

    I can’t begin to tell you how moving this fall in the cemetary has been to me.
    Knowing the tranquility you felt there even still,
    the fact that you’ve finally moved on from the funk you were in,
    knowing you’ll only come out better for it,
    It’s like a light shining on you, and I’m so eager to see the result!

    I’m so relieved that Cindy is safe,
    you’re the best team I’ve ever had the honor to know.
    These photos reveal nothing of your pain-
    you’re quite the trooper.
    You’ve done a magnificent job capturing this feel, and I feel calmer after a harrowing weekend just connecting with them.

    Thanx Brian,
    and The Ribbon is still my favorite….
    🙂

    January 12, 2009 at 9:23 pm

  7. John (Dad)

    And on the next day, as we spent time together, the discomfort in your back was less and it will eventually be a memory. Your photos however are art and art is a touch of the immortal. Great work as always! Keep it up. (But watch the ice, will you?)

    January 12, 2009 at 10:06 pm

  8. Beautiful photos!!!

    Sue’s Daily Photography

    January 15, 2009 at 12:12 am

  9. I feel tranquil just looking at these pictures, especially the gravestones and the orange flowers. They are wonderful for meditation.

    January 15, 2009 at 2:55 am

  10. Glad the camera is OK Brian. It’s amazing the thing they call “instinct”. That final rose shot above is instinctly brilliant.

    January 15, 2009 at 2:56 pm

  11. The 3rd image! WOW! That is a scene I’ve never saw in person. The tree, the snow and the sky. It’s processed to the max! I wish I got to see snow covered nature scapes more often. Your friend is right. You are doing one of the things you are meant to do. Also, your story telling and writing abilities are “up there” with things you do well.

    Hope the funk leaves you for good.

    January 15, 2009 at 5:30 pm

  12. Brian,
    Excellent work…the third image is a real keeper…but I will say it again…you need to display your work in a larger size, either here or on flickr, so people can fully appreciate what you are doing. I don’t know if you’re not displaying in larger size is because you are concerned with people “stealing” your work or it’s something else. Just put a note on your site that all work is copyrighted but can be used for non commercial purposes…be that as it may, you NEED to display larger, you’re depriving me and others of truly enjoying what you do. I know I get “exhilarated” when I see my stuff open up full size in a browser and I know other people are seeing it the same way. That will definitely get you out of your funk, although you might want to keep that ‘funk’ when you go out dancing, dude. Go for it. Again, great stuff here.
    Best regards,
    Louis

    January 17, 2009 at 11:30 am

Leave a Reply

