Grasp The Moment Photography

Still Life

Another dip into the coffee can of words.

This time I scratched my head when I saw the word. “Still Life”? What the hell does that mean? The only still life I could think of are those bowls of fruit that they make you paint in art school – or at least the art school that you see on TV shows.

My biggest problem was that I didn’t have a bowl big enough for the fruit. Well, I tried at least. Then I got bored with the fruit, I mean it’s just fruit. So, before eating it, I decided to take a closer look.

Back to the can for another word…

Still Life 01

Still Life 02

Still Life 03

Still Life 04

Still Life 05

7 responses

  1. Peg

    As usual – GREAT photos!

    January 7, 2009 at 11:13 pm

  2. Sue

    The banana is my fav. Good DOF and texture. Good job on the lemon too. I really struggled with the lemon during my try. Hard to expose properly…….:)

    January 8, 2009 at 1:45 pm

  3. John (Dad)

    WOW! I couldn’t figure out what the banana peel was until I looked more carefully.

    January 8, 2009 at 2:04 pm

  4. Jenn

    Looks like an orange to me, but what the hell do I know?
    Did you know that nothing rhymes with orange?
    But I digress…
    I wish I could get as clear and sharp a shot as you have,
    the depth is unreal!
    You may be bored with them, but others of us are aspiring to get there!
    Thanx for the inspiration : )

    January 9, 2009 at 1:08 am

  5. JRP

    I think my favs are the pear, the orange slice and the banana peel.

    The pear because I love the DOF and how the end trails off in the blur
    The Orange slice because it looks so sharp that I feel like I can just take a bite of it
    The banana peel because it’s very different…I would have expected to see the banana peeking out but you went for just the peel which I liked.

    January 9, 2009 at 1:39 am

  6. The pear is the one I like best for some reason. I am no good at still life photos. I can appreciate them but can’t take any worth sharing!

    January 9, 2009 at 10:54 am

  7. StKev

    Sweets for the sweet…

    January 10, 2009 at 12:35 am

Leave a Reply

