Grasp The Moment Photography

The Pipe Santa Left Behind

My friend, Doug, has to be the best Dad ever. This year, for Christmas, Doug strapped on boots, trudged across the back deck – nearly slipping and killing himself in the process – and left a pipe next to an empty plate of cookies.

All it was done so his two beautiful children would rush down the stairs and have no doubt at all that the abundance of presents nestled underneath the beautifully decorated tree was left behind by none other than Santa Claus himself.

Christmas means so many things for so many people. I have my own opinions, but as strong as they are, I am never one to belittle or destroy an opposing thought when it comes to this topic. Secretly, I am a bit envious of the joy Christmas brings some people.

Every year, we are amazed by the gifts that the Santas in our lives bring us. It could be a comfy and warm new sweat shirt or a top of the line Nikon D700, but its something that we were given because the giver just wanted to see a smile. It’s the beauty of a gift given selfishly.

I believe what I just wrote – it’s why I love giving gifts, even something as silly as a little ornament, and why I love receiving gifts, even something as small as a book.

But lets be honest. The best gifts – the gifts that Christmas was made for – are for the children. The bells, the whistles, the lights, all the terrific things toys do these days and the ecstatic expression they leave on our children’s faces. It’s the magic of a new great toy – but it’s also the wonder and amazement that someone out there, someone who lives far off in the North Pole and tracks boot prints through the kitchen in his rush to visit all the houses in the world, clumsily leaving behind his pipe, is watching us, and knows exactly what we wanted.

I thought of this as I cleaned up after my boys went back to their mother’s when my Christmas weekend with them was over. I put away their toys, where they would wait to be played with again, and I thought back on my own past Christmas, and how magical the Santas in my life were, and still are to this day.

Thanks for the sweatshirt Mom and Dad. It was exactly what I wanted.

This is what my kids got this year… what did you get?

SpongeBob

The Hulk

Space Shuttle

Iron Man

Hess Truck

Video Game Controller

11 responses

  1. I got a bathrobe.

    It’s not just ANY bathrobe though.

    It’s a Jedi bathrobe.

    These are not the droids you’re looking for.

    December 31, 2008 at 12:22 am

  2. StKev

    I got two tickets to Little Feat!
    Always liked ’em, never had seen them.
    They were great.
    Happy New Year, B ! Many more, too.

    December 31, 2008 at 12:58 am

  3. Jenn

    Your take on Christmas is not what I expected this year-
    Thanx for that gift…
    The gift of a little peace of mind.
    I really hope you did get at least a little of what you wished for,
    And that this new year brings you some peace : )
    Namaste

    December 31, 2008 at 1:19 am

  4. Peg

    Doug does sound like a great Dad – but so are you! Fabulous photos!!

    December 31, 2008 at 1:32 am

  5. JRP

    Brian, this recent series is my top favs for still life shots you’ve done recently.

    I’ve never gotten so excited about seeing a Hulk toy until I saw your photo. The other one I can’t get enough of is the Iron Man. The way you focused on the helmet and the face is in the blur of the DOF is great.

    Glad you had a magical Christmas with the family.

    December 31, 2008 at 1:34 am

  6. suehenryphotography

    I got a new grand daughter and the opportunity to spend time with my family in Nashville on Christmas morning! Nothing could be better than that!

    Plus, a new tradition has been started in our family. It’s kind of cool! Read about it on my blog — http://suehenryphotography.wordpress.com

    December 31, 2008 at 1:48 am

  7. Lovely pics of the gifts!

    My dog gave me socks to replace the ones he’s eaten…

    December 31, 2008 at 8:44 am

  8. I got to meet my newest nephew. 3 weeks old when I met him on Christmas Day. šŸ™‚ I like your gamer control photo best! Such a classic Christmas gift for little boys.

    January 3, 2009 at 1:11 pm

  9. John (Dad)

    I got to spend time with my whole family and help a neighbor install a window and somehow that was fun. And, of course, I got to see (and play with) the toys my grandsons got, Thanks for reminding me of what Christmas is.

    January 4, 2009 at 9:28 am

  10. Doug

    One of the things that I have always loved about having kids is that Christmas becomes for us parents a fraction of what it used to be like as a kid. Making it real to them gives me a lot of joy because seeing that look of wonderment on their faces brings me back to a much better time.

    I’m just as honored to be that to them as I am being mentioned in my buddy Brian’s blog.

    January 4, 2009 at 3:48 pm

  11. DrTim

    Iron Man! Where was that hulk action figure when I was a kid?

    January 6, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

