Grasp The Moment Photography

Autumn Rain

The worst part of autumn is rain.

Autumn rain brings wind, and wind rips the leaves from the trees, stripping away the rainbow cloaks they get to wear for a brief time. The streets of New York City become carpeted in fallen leaves, now soaked and heavy with water. Shortly after the rain stops, doors open and out from the warmth and comfort of their homes come people prepared for battle, armed with rakes and shovels. They quickly begin their work of clearing away the wet mess left strewn across the sidewalks and lawns, stuffing wet colorful piles of leaves into black garbage bags. The bags get tied up and placed at the curb where they’re thrown into the backs garbage trucks and promptly disappear.

And then fall is over.

The weather gets colder. The friendly nip of the wind develops into a vicious icy bite. The once magnificent trees are now nothing more than bare skeletons. Night falls earlier, and it always seems to be dark and cold.

Christmas comes quickly, and for a brief time the winter is almost lifted by the twinkling colorful lights hanging in windows. The cold is almost chased away by the warmth of the holiday spirit. Before you know it though, the holidays are over, and New York City shivers through a few more months of winter.

I hate winter. I hate the cold. I hate autumn rain because I know winter is right around the bend.

So despite my dislike of the current situation and my tendency to worry about the future, I decided to walk out my front door and see what I could see. What I found is that the rain had stopped momentarily and the wind was gently blowing through the trees. I strolled down the colorful blocks of Queens as leaves slowly fell from their lives on the branches to their death on the sidewalk. I felt as if Mother Nature herself was throwing me a ticker tape parade.

It was beautiful. For an afternoon I didn’t think of the winter ahead, I just enjoyed the autumn rain like I had never enjoyed it before.

Red Bush

Leaf In A Puddle

Church

Autumn Rain II

Autumn Rain

7 responses

  1. Jenn

    This is exactly what I miss about owning a house.
    Owning a co-op, I can’t decorate for the hollidays, or appreciate the fallen leaves on my lawn.
    The same leaves people battle in the morning,
    I miss them.
    I walk through the park across the street,
    and revel in that ticker tape parade you speak of.
    Knowing it will be short lived,
    I could live there forever…
    You’re photos capture the mood I feel as the leaves caress my hair on thier way from life to death,
    and I mourn the loss of such a magical season.
    Your colors and textures are surreal,
    and will stay with me untill they live again
    I love your work

    November 8, 2008 at 1:43 am

  2. suehenryphotography

    Only a New Yorker would compare fall to a “ticker tape parade,” Clever analogy. πŸ™‚

    I used to hate fall too. It always meant the end of my freedom (summer off from school/work). But now, well….I think I have enjoyed fall this year as I have never before.

    Your images in this series show the beauty of fall as well as a creating a special “mood.” I feel almost a “melancholy softness” in this set. Maybe it’s the rain…..

    November 8, 2008 at 5:24 am

  3. I’m entranced by these shots, Brian, especially the leaf floating on the water and the final close-up of the maple leaf. Stunning!

    I don’t like winter much either but was comforted by an article I read recently which touted the quality of winter light for photography. Maybe you’ll feel better if you read it! πŸ˜‰

    http://digital-photography-school.com/blog/photography-in-the-winter-season/#more-2418

    November 8, 2008 at 7:10 am

  4. wow, awesome colors!

    November 8, 2008 at 7:17 pm

  5. John (Dad)

    As a lifelond resident of Queens Conty, I tend to forget how beautiful the area can sometimes be. Your photos gave me a fresh reminder. (And, yes, I hate the winter also.)

    November 9, 2008 at 10:38 am

  6. I, much like Sue, view so many things differently since photography has become such a large part of my life. As I mentioned on the forum – Ifindthe golden leaf in the puddle a striking composition. Well done.

    November 10, 2008 at 1:58 pm

  7. as much as I hate to be cold, I love winter more than words. I also enjoy fall. This year it’s coming late…if ever it does come and it’s making me grumpy to see you getting fall and not me! πŸ˜‰ Kidding.

    Beautiful vivid colors in your rainy fall photos. I like what you found.

    November 12, 2008 at 11:05 pm

Leave a Reply

