Grasp The Moment Photography

We’re Trying To Be Good

I was blessed.

When I was young… knee high to grasshopper some would say … I somehow stumbled upon Midnite Sound Studios. Midnite Sound was recording studio in the backstreets of Queens and home to Moose, a man that could turn a simple sound into the heavenly voice of angels, whether he had made it, or someone else. Not only was Moose a master behind the myriad of knobs, buttons and dials of a recording console, but he’s also perfect with a set of drums and a vocal mic.

Through the doors of Midnite Sound walked in musicians from all sorts of genres.More than a few nights blues were in studio A as death metal was in studio B which had been cleaned up from an afternoon of recording traditional Hindu prayer songs.

Midnite Sound began, for me, as a place to sneak beers that I wasn’t supposed to have yet, smoke a little pot, which I really wasn’t supposed to have yet, and have fun. I did do all that, however, something else began happening, almost without me noticing it at first. I fell in love with music. To me, the blues were just as interesting as the death metal and just as enchanting as the Hindu prayer songs. It became my passion, the most magical thing in my life. I helped Moose as much as I could, just to get closer and deeper into the music. There were weekend gigs, the recording sessions, and the late night jams with Moose, Tom, and Ron that were havens for deep, rich explorations. Through it all, the music was my mistress and I was it’s slave.

Then of course, I was introduced to The Grateful Dead, and all the rules were re-written. What I though I knew about music was re-defined. I began to crave music more and more, and over the course of my life, it’s been the one lasting consent. Whether it be Miles Davis or Max Creek, music has to be surrounding me or I can’t function.

Today, Midnite Sound is gone, a victim of the “I can do it myself” computer age. I think back and I choke back a tear, not just for the loss of the place I often called home, but because I would have been a madman in there with my camera!!!! But Moose is still… well he’s still Moose, and he’s still playing and I’m still considering myself blessed.

Cry Baby plays a monthly gig in a neighborhood bar that those displaced by the loss of Midnite Sound take over for the evening. Moose plays drums, and sings a tune or two, but usually lets Heidi do what she does so well. Her voice is sublime as it cuts through the heavy groove around her. Rob is nothing short than a powerhouse on guitar, his every note perfect impeccable. The bass has changed hands over time, but this last Saturday night it was Dan Prine who held down the bottom end and rattled your teeth.

The band is great, the music is great, but I get more out of them than just a great night of electrifying jams. The cool thing is, they let me practice as they play. They never bitch and complain as I scamper around, camera in hand, taking shot after shot. I learn as I go… I change modes, shutter speeds, flash strength. I study each shot and why it didn’t come out and I use it to better my ability.

The band doesn’t seem to mind.. in fact, I’m now faced with Rob trying to pose for me.

Great music, great friends, great photos… didn’t I say I was blessed?

20071028-DSC_3457-E

20080208-DSC_9210-E

20080208-DSC_9188-E

20071028-DSC_3380-E

20081026-DSC_5724-E

20070722-DSC_6744-E

8 responses

  1. Jenn

    Midnite Sound…
    My home away from home! What a history we all had there…
    What a miracle how many of us survived.
    It’s where I first met you, and look how far we’ve come.
    The words bring a tear to my eye,
    The photos a smile to my face.
    Thanx Brian 🙂

    October 28, 2008 at 8:14 pm

  2. Jen

    Fantastic images and amazing processing choices. I loved reading the history behind your connection to the studio!!

    October 28, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  3. StKev

    This is one of the reasons why you’re a complex person. Accent on the second syllable.

    October 28, 2008 at 10:30 pm

  4. Mike

    Live music is the best! I love a good sweaty bar band that jams and makes up their set list as they go. Awesome stuff and great pictures

    October 29, 2008 at 8:00 am

  5. Music is something we can trust and it is lasting-the way it lingers long after the song is over. I have always loved music and the way it transfers it’s message deep into our core. I never got into “live” music until this year though. A coworker of mine is the bass player in a local band and watching them perform has become one of my favorite things to do. Taking photographs of their performances is actually my 2nd favorite thing to do. There are times though…when I have to let the camera drop down and just enjoy the show. Music is THAT GOOD! Man…I’ve been missing out on live music for 30 years! You know that has changed for good.

    October 29, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  6. I love these photos. You can really tell they’re playing their hearts out and your writing is a wonderful read. Thank you.

    November 3, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  7. Rob

    And whats wrong with me posing??

    Great photos, great vibe, & Brian. What more could you ask for?

    (ya think you could make me look thinner???)

    November 29, 2008 at 1:51 am

  8. Squid

    Great article
    Midnight Sounds was the place & Moose is the man.

    January 23, 2010 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

