Grasp The Moment Photography

Inspiration A to Z

Unfortunately, even sitting in a bucket of water with a lighting rod helmet on the roof of the tallest building doesn’t bring inspiration shooting from the heavens above. I did however have a pigeon make a nest on my shoulder.

Its amazing how I can walk past the same plot of ground day after day and never see anything interesting and then one day – BAM – it’s there. The next day it’s gone.

I was stuck in my house one miserable rainy week and walking around, camera in hand, just looking for something shoot, anything. Then I saw it… and to be honest, I was baffled why I had no seen it before. It was so beautiful and it almost beckoned to be photographed. The amazing detail … the colors.. the textures… so I shot it… picking it apart in detail so it could be appreciated for all it’s wonderful glory…

My Bathroom

Showerhead

Over The Top

Sea Horses & Toothbrushes

Oh yeah - I need a new ravor

Suds

Reading Rack

But now that’s done.. what next? What mystical source will give me the next inspirational charge?

The help speed the process along, me and my friends at YourPhotoForum.com including the great Sue Henry and Lincoln Palmer have agreed to start an “Inspiration A to Z” challenge. The idea is simple. Using a list of words, we all have to write the words on paper, toss them into a can and draw them out one at a time. You can’t move to the next word until after you’ve shot two or three images based on the word you’ve drawn.

So I started today… and was shocked at my first draw… the word “Inspiration” itself. Yup, out of all the words I had to choose from…

Inspiration #2

Of course, the source of all my inspiration these days was an obvious choice…

Inspiration #1

Finally in the words of the Grateful Dead… “Inspiration, move me brightly. light the song with sense and color; Hold away despair, more than this I will not ask.”

Inspiration #3

So where will inspiration come from next? In what form will it be? I have no idea… but I know if nothing else, I’ve got a coffee can of words to get through.

9 responses

  1. John (Dad)

    Excuse the pun, but I’m inspired. Great idea and great pictures.

    October 15, 2008 at 7:53 am

  2. suehenryphotography

    Now I am feeling pressure to produce! Anything written on the internet is a fact….or so some say. Just kidding.

    I will have to wait until after the first of the year to start my “Inspiration” project. But, it is a GREAT idea and I’ll look forward to seeing the results of your project. Good luck. Keep the inspiration flowing.

    October 15, 2008 at 10:33 am

  3. Thanks for the visit and comments – Great stuff you have going on here – I will be back !!!

    October 15, 2008 at 7:10 pm

  4. StKev

    “Shes got everything delightful, shes got everything I need…”

    October 15, 2008 at 11:58 pm

  5. Thanks for visiting my blog and the comment you left. Interesting site, like Mr. Palmer I will be back.

    October 16, 2008 at 1:46 pm

  6. Doug

    I sat down to check out your blog needing an escape, and that’s exactly what I got. I love your writing style and shots bro. I especially appreciate the shot of the end of the note from that special gal. I’m a saver…stuff like that hits me, and made me remember what those days were like. Thanks, bro.

    October 18, 2008 at 12:24 am

  7. cool set. i love the toilet shot, i will have to try something of the sort!

    October 20, 2008 at 8:13 pm

  8. Pingback: She’s A Rainbow…. « Through The Lens

  9. Pingback: Doors « Through The Lens

Leave a Reply

