Grasp The Moment Photography

I Hope They Have Fall In Heaven

I’ll voice a pretty unpopular opinion of mine.

God/Yahweh/Buddha/Allah/Whatever does some pretty fucked up shit. I’d love to sit down over a few beers with him/her and discuss autism, SIDs, and a whole host of birth defects. Later on, after shots of Jack Daniels we’ll discuss rapes, molestations, hurricanes, mudslides and finally 9/11.

But even if my Dad and I disagree on the first paragraph, we do agree on what he kept repeating today… “I hope they have fall in heaven.”

Autumn is when they days slowly grow shorter, the wind gets a distinctive bite to it and the trees shake away their boring green overcoats to show off an brilliant display of colors that would put any big box of crayolas to shame.

Yes, we have trees in NYC, and yes they even have leaves, and fall in NYC is an event no one should miss. Of course, taking a drive an hour north through Harriman State park is an even better way to experience the majesty of this season.

IMHO who ever is behind the scenes, pulling the strings is getting alot of things wrong… but Fall is definitely something that’s right.

Fallen Leaves On A Stone Wall

Leafy Road

Storybook Village

Leaves On Wet Pavement

I Hope It's Always Fall In Heaven

10 responses

  1. JRP

    I hope they have fall in heaven as well…it’s without a doubt my favorite time of the year. The brisk air is so refreshing and the colors are out of this world.

    That last photo is AMAZING! It blows me away. Stunning!
    Third to last is a fantastic high view of a gorgeous fall scene…a place I’d love to visit.
    2nd to last is so beautifully lit! WOW!

    October 12, 2008 at 12:36 am

  2. John (Dad)

    Whoever/Whatever/? is in chrage here sure does a good painting job this time of year, that’;s for sure.

    October 12, 2008 at 7:56 am

  3. suehenryphotography

    When I taught school I hated fall. I always enjoyed the freedom of summer soooo much that fall symbolized the end of my freedom. But now that I am retired…….well, fall is so wonderful! And, I agree with you and your dad. “I hope they have fall in heaven” too!

    And….your first paragraph is very thought provoking; your images, beautiful.

    October 12, 2008 at 9:45 am

  4. Jenn

    This is my absolute favorite time of year,
    and you’ve captured it brilliantly!
    The colors are warm and vibrant,
    and the scenes themselves are perfectly rustic and ideal.
    You’ve really captured the spirit of Autumn here,
    Truly amazing! šŸ™‚

    October 12, 2008 at 11:25 am

  5. StKev

    Was a time in the sixties when Clapton was God, later it was Jerry, but these days I think the position’s pretty much vacant.
    Thanks for the speedy update, B. It’s good to have you around.

    October 12, 2008 at 9:17 pm

  6. Mike

    You’re right about 2 things – The concept of “god” needs to be reworked because he’s letting us all down. The loop of “he’s all powerful” yet “he allows evil to exist” can drive you insane if you give it any real thought but that’s why people of faith don’t think they just believe. God love em.

    And secondly, yes Autumn is the greatest. If you had thrown in a picture of a football game, and I’m not talking NFL, just a coupla kids tossing a beat up pigskin around using the tree on the left and the telephone pole down the street as touchdown markers, if you’d gotten that shot, your blog entry would be perfect.

    October 13, 2008 at 7:21 am

  7. StKev

    Yeah! Kids! Playing football with a pumpkin in a pile of burning leaves. And spiders! And an owl and a scary tree! No! Two scary trees! And a couple of Pilgrims eating a turkey with Norman Rockwell and Santa and their blunderbusses are full of grapes and food and cute mice! Yeah!

    THEN your blog entry “I Hope They Have Fall In Heaven” would be perfect!

    No, wait! All in 3D!!! That’s the ticket!

    Oh, and some music! Mannheim Steamroller playing with Frank Sinatra and hosted by William B. Williams on NPR’s Driveway Moments!
    Sweet!

    ‘Cause, what the hell, you’ve done tombstones already. To death. Kidding.
    I love ya, B. Don’t let the turkeys “getcha” down.

    October 13, 2008 at 10:30 pm

  8. My favorite time of year and you have captured it splendidly.

    October 13, 2008 at 11:48 pm

  9. Another one to say that fall is my favorite time of year! Great captures of this wonderful season.

    October 15, 2008 at 5:13 pm

  10. Doug

    Um…..that last pic sent me swirling Brian. That is a masterpiece. I know you may shrug that off, fuck that. It’s a masterpiece. We all see things in pics that mean something to us, and I know very well what I see with that pond/lake and the trees framing it in the background. I could (and will) look at that for hours. Bravo.

    October 18, 2008 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

