Grasp The Moment Photography

I’m Bursting…

I still scratch my head when people say my photos are good. Ok, yes, I’ll admit even I think some of them are, but I think it’s tough for me to accept the fact that something that brings me such peace and joy is also something that could touch others.

This doesn’t even begin to describe the feeling I get when I get positive remarks on my work by other photographers. I’m the past few months I’ve begun to follow work of photographers that I basically idolize. I get advice and pointers from brilliant minds like Chiller, Lincoln Palmer, Sue Henry and of course the amazingly talented Jon Mikal who have become a real a “photographic family” to me at YourPhotoForum.com.

Each month at YPF there is a Photo Of The Month Contest. The really unique aspect of this contest is there is nothing submitted for it. Instead any member of YPF can nominate another member’s work for the contest.

The first time I was nominated I was blow away. I didn’t win… hell, I didn’t even vote for that photo! The winner that month was well deserved but then the next month, I was nominated again and this time I won! I still don’t think I’ve gotten over the shock of that!

Well last month I was nominated again and I was ecstatic. Then… another photo was nominated. Then… another!!! When voting began last week I had 3 entries in the contest and I’m proud to say I won. (LOL.. had good odds, right?)

The photos….

“The Flowers She Left Behind”
The Flowers She Left Behind

“Carnival Dinosaur”
Carnival Dinosaur

and the winner…

“Bank Of America, Dallas, Texas”
Bank Of America, Dallas, Tx

So if you’re a photographer, and you’re looking for a great forum with some real supportive and encouraging people – not to mention the most amazing collection of talent I’ve ever seen, stop over at YourPhotoForum.com. Hope to see you there!

6 responses

  1. suehenryphotography

    I voted. And, I voted BEFORE I read this post! And, thanks for the mention…I am almost embarrassed to have my name mentioned in the same sentence with some of those others.

    October 10, 2008 at 9:58 pm

  2. John (Dad)

    Of the three pictures, I like the flower best. What’s the story behind it?

    As you know I’m no photographer. I’m not even sure if I’m going to work anymore on the pictures I took in Europe this summer. Having said that, I pride myself on the fact that when I see good art, I can appreciate it. And some of your pictures are nothing short of art. Keep up the good work!

    October 11, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  3. graspthemoment

    Since you asked Dad, the title kinda says it all.

    For Dallas’ birthday I flew her to NYC for the weekend and met her at the airport with a dozen roses. She realized she couldn’t take them home, and I promised I’d dry them for her. I was playing with my lights and studio set up, and needed a subject. These are quiet simply “The Flowers She Left Behind” …

    October 11, 2008 at 8:11 pm

  4. John (Dad)

    The title gave an entirely different image for me. Perhaps also because I have always lived in this neighborhood completely surrounded by cemeteries. Maybe I;ve seen too many flowers left over after a funeral and I thought the Flowers Left Behind were all that remained. Your explanation’s a lot more cheerful than my idea!

    October 11, 2008 at 8:17 pm

  5. Doug

    As someone who dabbles in another art, I know what you mean when you say you scratch your head when people tell you your art is good. But brother, hear me when I say your art is good. Never doubt that.

    You’ve inspired me to pick up my lost art Brian. I need that peace that it can bring. I need something healthy that brings me peace, in a bad way.

    Love the rose shot bro. I remember having things that “she left behind” and what that meant to me. That shot brought me right back there.

    October 18, 2008 at 12:33 am

  6. Awesome work – all three outstanding — Brian, and the recognition well-deserved!

    (Now I know where you fell off the Earth to, just before I fell off the other side of it.)

    Don’t forget the little people. ;]

    January 20, 2009 at 5:44 am

Leave a Reply

