Grasp The Moment Photography

You Can See Alot From Over Here

I never wanted to sing. Actually I never really wanted to be anyone in the band. Being in front of a crowd for any amount of time turns my knees to jelly and makes me wish for a mystical cloak of invisibility. My best friend asked me to be his best man and from day one I dreaded the speech I had to give.Even today, I don’t really remembered what I said, I just remembered I wanted nothing more to hand that mic to someone else and get a Jack ‘n’ Coke.

Even early on, I was drawn to the spotlight however. Not really the spotlight itself though, but to the edge of it. My natural curiosity brought me to that line, never over it. I always wanted to see what was going, watching it all, imprinting it into my memory.

And now I have a camera, makes it easier I guess. Well, in some ways. The great thing about spotlights is they tend to make if difficult for the person in the spotlight to see what everyone else is doing. Now it’s up to me to slowly sneak my way to the back of the crowd and take the shot that totally captures their spirit without them knowing it.

Growing up, my mom was always the one with the camera. I get whatever talent I have from her. But mom was always part of the party, she was always laughing with us, not being the social introvert I’ve grown into. We always goofed around on holidays and Mom’s slogan was “do that again!!” so she could take a photo. Someone, usually my sister would call out “And act candid!!”

Of course there is no way to “Act candid.” Furthermore, there is no way to tell a complete stranger to pretend he/she doesn’t know his/her photo is being taken. So, when I see someone I really want to capture, I linger, make myself disappear and try to take a shot I’m pleased with.

Here are some I’ve been pleased with… in no order…

Mike and Shea
Mike & Shea

Rainbow Thoughts
Rainbow Thoughts

Happy Birthday Moose
Happy Birthday Moose

Street Painter
20070831-DSC_0242-E

At The Fountain
20070701-DSC_5238-E

There’s more, but that’s enough for today. I’d say something stupid like see you around, but I guess the point of this is that you don’t see me, that I see you, and I see you being you.

9 responses

  1. This is exactly what I enjoy most about your photography. The fact that you capture moments that are unrehearsed and not set up into some sort of tableaux. I also enjoy how you are able to really show the true nature of someone through your photography. Just a stripped down version of the person – no facade.

    September 15, 2008 at 12:37 pm

  2. Jenn

    It’s amazing how you can really see people, and capture it in a way that makes me truly appreciate just being. πŸ™‚

    September 15, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  3. I have to say you got a lot of talent from your mother πŸ™‚
    Very nice blog, you are living on a very photogenic spot on earth! I have subscribed to your feeds…

    And thank you for commenting on my blog, I like to see new faces visiting my simple blog, nice to meet you. πŸ™‚

    September 18, 2008 at 12:25 pm

  4. suehenryphotography

    Of this collection, “Rainbow Thoughts” and “Street Painter” are my favorites. Do you mind if I call you the “Master of Street Photography?” hehe

    I think if the crowd was a little larger and I could blend into the background a little more I might not be quite as apprehensive about shooting people. However, in our little community, the people are so few and far between that it is challenging to blend into the background and capture a shot without them knowing it. sigh.

    September 18, 2008 at 1:05 pm

  5. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. These are great images, my fave is the ‘street painter’.

    September 18, 2008 at 2:11 pm

  6. “Now it’s up to me to slowly sneak my way to the back of the crowd and take the shot that totally captures their spirit without them knowing it.”

    I love that! That you actually do capture a piece of their spirit and it truly reflects in your photography. You do great work – keep it up.

    September 19, 2008 at 2:13 pm

  7. icwrjohn

    Somehow you always manage to caoture “something” in your art. Each picture tells a story, or better yet, a tale.

    September 20, 2008 at 11:54 am

  8. Brian:

    Thanks for visiting my photoblog!
    I especially like the first and third images. They are so fun. Good job.

    September 26, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  9. StKev

    C’mon!
    More!
    The suspense, it’s killin’ me here.

    October 1, 2008 at 11:14 pm

Leave a Reply

