Grasp The Moment Photography

The Boy In The Pirate PJs

I was sitting in Laguardia Airport, which I really believe holds the record for the most boring airport on planet Earth. I think a one room shack in the middle of the Philippines would have more to do. There was a bar I had spent some time in, but the necessity of catching this flight kept me now glued to the gate. I sat there on the floor near the closest outlet and goofed off on my laptop, at least I had Wi-Fi.

I noticed a boy and his mother approach from the side. She was young, I actually wouldn’t have been surprised to find out she was his older sister. What first caught my attention though was the fact that he was in his pajamas, Pirate Of The Caribbean PJs in fact. After that, I noticed the IV and colostomy bag.

They sat in the corner,  and she produced two small robot toys from her bag for him. He played with them on the open chairs between us as I closed up my laptop to prepare to eventually get on my plane. After a few moments I noticed he was watching me.

“Hello.” I said to him.

“Hi.” He responded. “Are you going to Florida too?”

“No, I’m going to Atlanta, and then to Dallas.” He picked up his robot toys and moved closer.

“I have to go to Florida to see another doctor.” He told me. “Do you want to play robots?”

“I only have a few moments, but sure.” I took the robot he offered me and for a few minutes were first explored the top of my suitcase the he suddenly turned on me and threw my robot off the suitcase which suffered a horrible fall to the terminal floor, screaming in panic the whole way. The Boy In The Pirate Pjs laughed, and out of the corner of my eye, I noticed so did his mother. An announcement that the boarding process of our flight had begun rang out, so I told the little boy I had to go. He smiled, picked up his robots in one hand and the IV and colostomy bag that trailed behind him in the other and walked over to where his mother sat. She greeted him with a big smile. I finished collecting my things, and before I stood, I pulled out my camera. As he climbed up on a chair and looked out the window, I took a shot. I heard them announce my flight again so I stuffed the camera in my bag and got on the line.

As the line began to move, I watched the two of them. She now cradled him in her lap and tickled him. He laughed and tried to catch a necklace she wore. I silently wished them a safe trip as I boarded my plane.

The Boy In Pirate PJs

One response

  1. graspthemoment

    Author : Dallas Hunt
    E-mail : dallas@dallashunt.com
    URL : http://www.dallashunt.com
    Comment:
    I remember you telling me about this little boy after arriving in Dallas. Seeing the image and knowing the story behind it really magnifies the sensitivity of the subject now. Of course I love the image because of the technical aspects of reflection, light and design, but the story makes all the difference in the world.

    Author : suehenryphotography
    E-mail : sue_henry@comcast.net
    URL :

    Comment:
    Oh my. Such a moving story that makes a good image GREAT.

    I’m never sure what I enjoy more from your work….the images or the stories that accompany them.

    Author : John (Dad)
    E-mail : icwrjohn@aol.com
    URL :
    Comment:
    What beautiful words to match such a beautiful photo! Keep up the good work.

    Author : oneshotbeyond
    E-mail : hmccullah@gmail.com
    URL : http://oneshotbeyond.wordpress.com/
    Comment:
    Meeting innocence on travels. A wonderful & priceless thing!

    Author : Anicole
    E-mail : aadanr@alltel.net
    URL :
    Comment:
    Awesome story, Ptch … you always seem to capture just the right moment and tell just the right story …

    September 11, 2008 at 1:05 am

Leave a Reply

