Grasp The Moment Photography

Who wants to hear my thoughts?

I remember it very clearly.

It was a Saturday night, yes the loneliest night of the week, I was on my laptop at the corner of coffee table because at the time we were trying to be at least in the same room. She looked over & asked what I was doing. I was on Flickr and I explained how I was commenting on people’s photos.

She paused a second and then said “Why do they care what you have to say?”

As with most of her verbal kicks in the teeth I had no response.

But really, what do they care what I have to say? I mean who am I anyway? I’m just a guy who bought a really nice camera and likes to take photos of things I see. I’ve got no background in art, no formal training in anything except my job, and that couldn’t be further from photography. I’m horrible at technicalities, no matter how much I try to study the meaning of the words aperture and so on. So yeah, what do they care what I have to say?

Well, I guess the same reason I care what people have to say about my stuff. In fact, “care” is too soft a word. Comments are like a drug to me. It’s the look on a lover’s face when you give them that gift you’ve been waiting to surprise them with.

It’s just about the greatest goddam thing in the world.

And I’m not being a praise hound here, no, far from it. In fact I hate those “Great!” and “Awesomes” I’m not digging for a compliment, that’s not my style.

What I feed off of, what keeps me going, is hear what you see. When I get a story about what that frozen second in time is all about. I might have been there when it happened, but now I want to be there when it happened with you.

So I guess this is why I have this blog. A place where thoughts on my photos can be placed.

Why? Because I care what you have to say.

One response

  1. graspthemoment

    Author : oneshotbeyond
    E-mail : hmccullah@gmail.com
    URL : http://oneshotbeyond.wordpress.com/
    Comment:
    “She paused a second and then said “Why do they care what you have to say?”

    I’ve had this reaction given to me so many times I can no longer count them.

    “As with most of her verbal kicks in the teeth I had no response.” These kind of kicks deserve no response.

    I’m glad you are doing this blog and have an outlet to tell your perspective while on your photo journeys Brian.

    September 11, 2008 at 12:56 am

Leave a Reply

