Grasp The Moment Photography

Taking Photos On The Radio

If you’re like me, you’ve probably lived your whole life thinking there was a little man who lived inside your stereo and woke up every time you turned it on. That’s one of the reasons I was so excited when Pops Rizzo & The Bra-jole Brothers invited me along for their appearance on Gotham Radio’s “Neir’s Music Spotlight” with host Chris Piccione.

So the band, Chris and I slipped into the tiny little studio when the show is recorded for an hour of some great conversation with the band, some tacks off the CD and a great live rendition of “The Rumba Song”. I happily let them do their thing as I tried to silently document the event (I’m hoping my shutter sounds don’t come out on the final take, LOL).

Afterwards the we ducked back into Neirs Tavern next door where their weekly Poetry Slam was going on. Even though the music didn’t fit the Poetry Slam theme, the organizers were kind enough to let the guys go on for a few tunes and instantly they had a bar full of new fans.

The broadcast will be on GothamRadio.com this Tuesday, March 6th from 8-9pm and again on Friday March 9th from 11am-12pm. After that I’m hoping it’ll be up on the their archives. If you can, try to listen in, the band sounds great, and they gave me a huge and unexpected plug on air.

And don’t forget… Pops Rizzo and the Bra-jole Brothers are playing Saturday March 10th at Neirs, so come down for some great tunes, cold beers and some magical moments.

All the shots from that night can be seen here…

All the shots from that night can be seen here…

2 responses

  1. Wait there’s no little people in the radio? But then what about all the chips I’ve been stuffing in the little holes??? Next you’ll tell me my tv doesn’t have a troupe of mini actors who perform for my pleasure!

    March 3, 2012 at 11:32 am

  2. Woohoo!!! Now that’s one terrific trick!!! Takin’ photos on the radio…I loved this post!

    God bless ya and have yourself one fantastic weekend!!! :O)

    May 4, 2012 at 4:22 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.